Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: Help with ON LEFT query Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 2 Next >>
Author Message
abernut
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 25
Quote abernut Replybullet Topic: Help with ON LEFT query
    Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 7:12am
I use the following query in SQL but can't figure out where to use it in Crystal 10.  I need it because sometimes the sales people use only the 5 digit zip and sometimes they use 12345-1234

ordersTable_sql AS ordersTable_sql
    INNER JOIN
        ZipCode_Table AS Zip ON LEFT(ordersTable_sql.ship_to_zip, 5) = Zip.ZipCode

Thank you,

IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9053
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 8:45am
if you do not want to use a SQL view or stored proc as your source then you wouldhave to do this in a crystal Command. I do not beleive you can set that kind of condition in the Database Expert Join section.
IP IP Logged
abernut
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 25
Quote abernut Replybullet Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 8:51am
Thank you,
I am BRAND SPANKING new to the world of Crystal.

If you have the time can you elaborate on your response.

Is this something I set up in the beginning when I am creating the report, ie..


Mike
IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9053
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 8:52am
Which part, the COMMAND or how to use a view or stored proc?
IP IP Logged
abernut
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 25
Quote abernut Replybullet Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 9:01am
C:
All the above.
IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9053
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 9:12am

You have to choose a source for your data (Under Database > Database Expert).

Your source can be a myriad of data types but I generally use SQL DBs at my shop.
So you connect to the SQL and you can then expand the data source options to use the tables, views or stored procedures from that SQL DB. So if you have rights within your system you can create a SQL view (or sp)joining your tables via your WHERE clause. That view is now available as your source instead of the 2 tables which need to be joined via crystals less flexible means. This (or stored procs which also allow for parameters) is an EXTREMELY useful process as you can do all your data manipulation and joining on the server instead of crystal. Much faster and much more flexible in SQL.
The COMMAND option is within crystal and lets you write SQL style select and joins. After you connect to the DB (same as above) there is an 'Add Command' option which opens a window where you can write your SQL command to grab your data. I have found COmmands to be very slow although others have not, so it may have to do with my environment.
Does that help or do you need more?


Edited by DBlank - 26 Aug 2010 at 9:16am
IP IP Logged
abernut
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 25
Quote abernut Replybullet Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 9:28am
THANK YOU.

The Add Command was EXACTLY what I was looking for.  It allowed me to just paste the SQL query I was using on my SQL Server.

Now I just have to make everything look nice and pretty for the big wigs.

Mike
IP IP Logged
abernut
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 25
Quote abernut Replybullet Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 9:31am
Sorry, but for got to ask...

I can do this on Crystal Reports 10 but the rest of the company uses something called Seagate to do their Crystal reporting.  I do not see the Add Command option there.  And I have been having issues with creating a report  in Crystal V10 and them not being able to open it with their Seagate Crystal viewer.
IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9053
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 26 Aug 2010 at 9:52am
never used the version that ships with seagate. You may want to try a new post re: that issue as others may have used it.
IP IP Logged
Jim257
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Aug 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6
Quote Jim257 Replybullet Posted: 27 Aug 2010 at 1:00am
Seagate Crystal reports is a much older version. I know that V8.5 was still owned by Seagate.

Here's some history if you're interested:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crystal_Reports

So the problem you are having is a versioning one. You can't open a V10 report in V8.5. Is there are possibility of upgrading the older versions?

V8.5 doesn't have the Add Command ability, you'd have to use a stored procedure stored on the database.

Are stored procedures a possibility?
IP IP Logged
Page  of 2 Next >>
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.048 seconds.