Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports for Visual Studio 2005 and Newer : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: Organizing Report Post Reply Post New Topic
PSpeare

Online Status: Offline
Quote PSpeare Replybullet Topic: Organizing Report
    Posted: 02 Sep 2007 at 11:50pm
Hello,

I'm rather new to using Crystal, and have found this forum helpful in answering some of my questions.  However, for some reason, I'm suffering a thought blockage in this one problem I'm currently working on, and would be grateful for any ideas or plans of approach that anyone might have.

Currently, I'm creating a monthly report using C#, and need something along the lines of:

---------------------------
Accounts with Amount Payable
[section includes columns Date, Account Number, Client Name, Associated Affiliates, Amt Payable, Prior Interest]

Accounts with Amount Refundable
[section includes columns Date, Account Number, Client Name, Associated Affiliates, Amt Refunded, Prior Interest]
---------------------------

Basically, it's one report with two sections - one section listing all the accounts with a postive amount payable and the other listing all accounts that have a negative amount payable.  The date is passed in by the user via a C# coded interface.

For some reason, my brain doesn't seem to want to wrap itself around this, so I'm currently encountering two main problems:

- What would be the best way to set it up?  I've considered creating two stored procedures, which in turn lead to two subreports, which in turn would be both inserted into one main report.  But doing so would require me passing in the date parameter into the main report and then into the subreports which would then be passed into the stored procs.  Is that even possible?  Or is this a not very good way to go about it.  For some reason, I get the feeling that there must be another way, but I just can't put my finger on it