Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Variable use between formulas Post Reply Post New Topic
Alex Warner

Online Status: Offline
Quote Alex Warner Replybullet Topic: Variable use between formulas
    Posted: 15 May 2011 at 5:43pm
Hi,

I am relatively new to CR, so I apologise if this is a stupid question. I am having an issue in a report I am creating and I have created the following example to illustrate what I am trying to do.

I have 2 formulas, one is in the details section of the report, and the second formula is being called in the first. My problem is that any changes to global variables in the second formula seems to have no impact on the same variable in the first.

@Main Formula:

Global StringVar x;
x := "Main Formula";
{@Sub Formula};
x;

@Sub Formula:

Global StringVar x;
x := "Sub Formula";
x;

When the report is run, the x variable outputs the string "Main Formula", even though after x was set to "Main Formula", it should have changed to "Sub Formula". I have spent some time looking and attempted to solve this with EvaluateAfter but it doesn't make a difference.

Any help or points in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Alex Warner.
IP IP Logged
lockwelle

Quote lockwelle Replybullet Posted: 16 May 2011 at 3:49am
hmmm....
I've never done this myself, so I would have thought that the value would change.

Here is what would seem to be happening, the declaration gets the current value, and scopes it to that and then doesn't update it, so how to get around it is the real issue...

you could try a Custom Report Function, which might be a pain as you need to pass in all the values (has to be database independent)

or you might try assigning to the variable from the subformula like:
x:={@Sub Formula};

again, haven't tried it, but it would make sense...at least to give it a try.

HTH
IP IP Logged
Keikoku