Data Connectivity
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Data Connectivity
Message Icon Topic: Linking Tables Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 3 Next >>
stevetothink

Online Status: Offline
Quote stevetothink Replybullet Topic: Linking Tables
    Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 6:09am
I'm a newbie at crystal but I understand that tables need to be linked using a common field.

I started with a standard report that had 2 tables. I added a 3rd table that has an additional field I need.

I linked the 2nd table to the 3rd table using a field called "num."

When I run the new report, it comes up blank.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.
Steve
IP IP Logged
Dewald
Groupie
Groupie

Quote Dewald Replybullet Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 6:44am

There needs to be a logical relationship between fields that you link the tables on. So if you have a customer table with a customer number you can link it to a sales table on the customer number. Both of these tables, customer and sales, might have an internal ID field, but linking on the ID fields is meaningless.

Hope this helps.

Dewald Botha
http://www.ITClarity.co.za
IP IP Logged
CircleD

Quote CircleD Replybullet Posted: 07 Jun 2011 at 12:22pm
There are so many ways to link tables that sometimes you have to play around with the links.Sometimes just changing the link to a left or right outer link will fix things and sometimes you have to add another table that you don't need any information from in order to add a table you do.I'd try a left outer link and see if that doesn't cure it.You may also be running into a null value and that will kill a report especially if you're using a formula.

Edited by CircleD - 07 Jun 2011 at 12:25pm
IP IP Logged
DBlank

Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 08 Jun 2011 at 4:20am