Message Icon Topic: Conditional formatting Post Reply Post New Topic
db3712
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
Quote db3712 Replybullet Topic: Conditional formatting
    Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 6:18am
Hello,
I'm new to conditional formatting and would appreciate any help.  I have a two fields.  One is a number field and the other is a formula which is essentially a summary of two other number fields.  I would like to highlight one or both of the fields if they don't match.  Can you do conditional formatting on a summary field?

Thanks!
IP IP Logged
lockwelle

Quote lockwelle Replybullet Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 6:34am
well, if you add a section to the group footer, and set your summarized value to a shared (or global) variable, then when you actually display the values, you can tap into your shared variables and use them to change the background color.

another way of saying the same thing.  find the values that you want to compare. store them in shared variables in a section above the displayed value, then access the variables to change the color.

example
gf1a:
shared numbervar col1 := {table.field1};
shared numbervar col2 := {table.field2};
""  //will suppress any display of the values (though you can also suppress the section

gf1b, {table.field1}, format object, font (i think) color, check the background(ithink)
shared numbervar col1;
shared numbervar col2;
if col1 <> col2 then
  crRed
else
  crWhite;

HTH
IP IP Logged
db3712
Groupie
Groupie

Quote db3712 Replybullet Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 7:28am
I don't completely understand.  I apologize.  It appears you want me to create two additional group footers.  Are you indicating I need to create a formula with the first gf1a above and then place a conditional format on the first formula?   I appreciate your help.
IP IP Logged
DBlank

Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 15 Jan 2013 at 8:16am