Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2016 : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: User Input Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 2 Next >>
Author Message
JeffGeorge
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Sep 2013
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Quote JeffGeorge Replybullet Topic: User Input
    Posted: 18 Sep 2013 at 9:27am
I'd like to modify a report I created to accept user input at launch. Can this be done with Crystal Reports XI?
IP IP Logged
JeffGeorge
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Sep 2013
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Quote JeffGeorge Replybullet Posted: 19 Sep 2013 at 4:09am
I figured out how to create parameters (not much different than MS Access), but how do I get them to execute at run time? I created a desktop shortcut for my report but when I double click it all it does is open the CR editor without prompting for new data.
IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9011
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 19 Sep 2013 at 5:16am

creating a param is the first step. It is dormant. Once you use it in some capacity withing the report (like in the select expert) it will become active and you will be prompted to enter a value.

IP IP Logged
JeffGeorge
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Sep 2013
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Quote JeffGeorge Replybullet Posted: 19 Sep 2013 at 8:14am
That doesn't seem to be happening, though. The only way I can get it to prompt me for input is when I select the refresh button. It then asks me if I want to use the existing data or refresh the data. It doesn't prompt me when I open the report.
IP IP Logged
kostya1122
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2011
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 475
Quote kostya1122 Replybullet Posted: 19 Sep 2013 at 8:38am
go file tab >> unselect save data with report
IP IP Logged
JeffGeorge
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Sep 2013
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Quote JeffGeorge Replybullet Posted: 19 Sep 2013 at 9:29am
I tried that, too. After doing that when I click on the shortcut to the report it just opens it in design mode.
IP IP Logged
JeffGeorge
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Sep 2013
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Quote JeffGeorge Replybullet Posted: 25 Sep 2013 at 3:31am
I still can't get this report to execute and prompt for input. Is there something else that needs to be done? For example, when writing software code the IDE doesn't actually create the end-user tool; you still have to compile it. When designing a report in Crystal do you have to do something to "finalize" the report for end-user use?
IP IP Logged
JeffGeorge
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Sep 2013
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Quote JeffGeorge Replybullet Posted: 27 Sep 2013 at 2:48am
Is it possible that I'm misunderstanding the use of parameter fields? I design a report, save the .rpt file to my desktop for easy launch, but when I double-click it I never get prompted for input, on any of the reports I'm designing. What am I doing wrong?
IP IP Logged
kostya1122
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 Jun 2011
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 475
Quote kostya1122 Replybullet Posted: 27 Sep 2013 at 6:18am
for the report to prompt you you need to press F5 or refresh
IP IP Logged
Sastry
Moderator
Moderator
Avatar

Joined: 16 Jul 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 537
Quote Sastry Replybullet Posted: 27 Sep 2013 at 6:31am
hi

Only creating parameter will not ask user input, you need to use these parameter either recod seleciton (filter) or you should place these parameters (drag) to your report.

Then when you refresh it will ask for user input.
Thanks,
Sastry
IP IP Logged
Page  of 2 Next >>
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.