Talk with the Author
 Crystal Reports Forum : General Information : Talk with the Author
Message Icon Topic: Financial Chapter Post Reply Post New Topic
bonsmcook

Online Status: Offline
Quote bonsmcook Replybullet Topic: Financial Chapter
    Posted: 01 Feb 2008 at 5:36am
Hi Brian. 
I am interested in your book because it has an entire chapter on Financial Reporting.  However from reading the summary in Amazon it makes me think that the chapter has more to do with teaching non-accountant types about financial reports overall and general ledger tables.   (I am a CPA and business analyst so I wouldn't find that particularly helpful).   Does it contain information on actually pulling in data from GL tables to create multi-column income statements  as well or can you recommend another Crystal Reports book that  emphasizes financial reports (income statements, balance sheets, cash flow statements, e.g.)?

Thank you.

Edited by bonsmcook - 01 Feb 2008 at 5:39am
SMCook
IP IP Logged
Lugh

Quote Lugh Replybullet Posted: 01 Feb 2008 at 5:50am
Being a non-accountant (who has been harassed in the past for not understanding the difference between "payables" and "invoices"), I found the chapter very useful.  You may find it a bit too simplistic.  After all, you already know probably half the information in the chapter.  On the other hand, the other half of the chapter does include some very practical information on precisely how to create these kind of reports from common accounting databases.  Depending on your background, this may be exactly what you are looking for, or something you figured out by yourself five years ago.  I can tell you, though, that this kind of advice is not something I've seen in any other book on Crystal.  So, you may not have much luck finding anything else to work better.