Tips and Tricks
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Tips and Tricks
Message Icon Topic: Exporting report to excel Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
andyp
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Sep 2010
Location: Germany
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 18
Quote andyp Replybullet Topic: Exporting report to excel
    Posted: 12 Sep 2022 at 11:50pm
Hi good morning, I have a report that exports DB fields to excel ok. I now have added a sub report but this always appears on a line below after export. I need it to appear on the same line, more sub reports also need to be added as well, making the problem even worse. How can I force sub report to appear on same line as normal fields? Any advice/assistance would be much appreciated!
IP IP Logged
kevlray
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1586
Quote kevlray Replybullet Posted: 13 Sep 2022 at 4:01am
Yes you can.  Not sure how you have your layout.  I have put a sub-report to the right of other fields (or the left of them).  I have also put sub-reports in a section following the section where the other fields are and checked the overlay following sections box in the section expert dialog.
IP IP Logged
andyp
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Sep 2010
Location: Germany
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 18
Quote andyp Replybullet Posted: 14 Sep 2022 at 10:11am
OK thanks for responding, I will try that in the morning!
IP IP Logged
andyp
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Sep 2010
Location: Germany
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 18
Quote andyp Replybullet Posted: 15 Sep 2022 at 9:41pm
Good morning, I'm afraid the underlay tick in section expert made no difference
IP IP Logged
kevlray
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1586
Quote kevlray Replybullet Posted: 16 Sep 2022 at 6:55am
Odd.  I wonder why.  Of course you have make sure your section height is exactly the same (Excel export is very touchy to get correct).
IP IP Logged
andyp
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Sep 2010
Location: Germany
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 18
Quote andyp Replybullet Posted: 19 Sep 2022 at 10:51pm
Thanks for your suggestions, I will keep trying. I really need to get this to work!
IP IP Logged
kevlray
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1586
Quote kevlray Replybullet Posted: 20 Sep 2022 at 3:58am
Furthermore. You have to make sure all the fields in the main report and sub-report are the exact same height and aligned to the top of the section.  Remove the border from the sub-report (if you have not done so already).  Also, make sure the section is as small as possible (height of the fields).
IP IP Logged
andyp
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Sep 2010
Location: Germany
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 18
Quote andyp Replybullet Posted: 20 Sep 2022 at 9:29pm
Just managed to get all fields including sub report in one row! Until now I have been exporting as data only xls (makes it easier with lots of columns). I just run it with straightforward xls after checking line up/size etc. again and it worked. Still doesn't work with data only export though. I will now insert the rest of my required fields (several from further sub reports) and run it again. Hopefully it will be ok now, will let you know.
Thanks for your tips and interest kevlray. It helps sometimes just to ping issues/ideas to someone else out there!
IP IP Logged
kevlray
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1586
Quote kevlray Replybullet Posted: 21 Sep 2022 at 4:11am
I do not believe I have done a data only export with a sub-report.  I have no idea if it will work.

I have been doing this for a very long time.  I have picked up a few tips and tricks.  But there are some users on this forum that make me look like a beginner.
IP IP Logged
wsc27
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Jun 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 10
Quote wsc27 Replybullet Posted: 08 Nov 2022 at 9:55am
I have had the same issue as well. Thank you for sharing. Hopefully this will help me if I needed to perform this type of export again.
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.