Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports for Visual Studio 2005 and Newer : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: Needs page header to be not on top of page Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
cross
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Quote cross Replybullet Topic: Needs page header to be not on top of page
    Posted: 13 Apr 2007 at 2:46am
Hi All,

I'm creating a report that generates a bank statement. In this report, I have the customer information placed in the group header-a and the column names (DATE, DESCRIPTION, DEBIT, CREDIT, BALANCE) are placed in a group header below it.   My problem is that when the statement records overflow to the next page I need the column names to display again but not the customer information above it.    Is there a way to have information displayed on every page without being in the page header?

Thanks!




Edited by cross - 13 Apr 2007 at 2:48am
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3701
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 13 Apr 2007 at 10:00am
This is fairly easy.
 
1.  Set the group to repeat the header on each page.
2.  Format Sections. In the suppres formula for GroupHeader-a put the following:
     InRepeatedGroupHeader
 
This will now suppress the header-a section on all pages except the first, but the header-b section with your column headings should appear on all pages.
 
-Dell
IP IP Logged
cross
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Quote cross Replybullet Posted: 15 Apr 2007 at 5:54pm
Thanks for the tip Dell. 
I have a follow up question:  How can I set the page header so that it does not show on the first page of a group?

Thanks!

UPDATE:  I got it!

in the Page Header Suppress formula:

BooleanVar Suppress := FALSE;
if PageNumber = 1 the Suppress := TRUE else Suppress := FALSE;


Edited by cross - 15 Apr 2007 at 6:21pm
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3701
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 16 Apr 2007 at 6:49am
There's an easier way:
 
not InRepeatedGroupHeader
 
This method will work even when you're not resetting the page number with every group.
 
Also, to do it your way, you don't need a variable.  Since the first part of your if statement already evaluated to true or false, you could use just "PageNumber = 1" in the suppress formula.
 
-Dell
IP IP Logged
cross
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Quote cross Replybullet Posted: 17 Apr 2007 at 12:33am
gotcha!

thanks for the tip, Star
IP IP Logged
cross
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Quote cross Replybullet Posted: 17 Apr 2007 at 1:05am

i hope i'm not being a pain in the butt here. but i have another question:

Originally posted by hilfy

1.  Set the group to repeat the header on each page.



how can i do this?


UPDATE: found it!  Smile


Edited by cross - 17 Apr 2007 at 1:37am
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.032 seconds.