Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Using 2 date ranges to filter different columns. Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 2 Next >>
vinpa

Online Status: Offline
Quote vinpa Replybullet Topic: Using 2 date ranges to filter different columns.
    Posted: 27 Jul 2009 at 1:10pm
Here is my issue:

I have a report that, when run, prompts for a date range (min/max) and sums the required data.

What I wish to do is subtract 1 year from that date in order to populate two separate columns (# products sold and total sales $) which would allow me to see sales from the same time frame a year earlier and compare the values.

I am new to Crystal Reports, but have above average SQL knowledge.

Using Crystal Reports 2008 (Version 12.0.0.683).

Thanks in advance!
IP IP Logged
DBlank

Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 27 Jul 2009 at 1:37pm
gathering the data is easy, comparing side by side not as easy.
in your select statement just add an OR statement using Dateadd to get your data
({Table.datefield} in {?Start Date} to {?End Date})
or
({Table.datefield} in dateadd("y",-1,{?Start Date}) to dateadd("y",-1,{?End Date}) )
Not sure how you want to present it but this should get you started.
IP IP Logged
vinpa

Quote vinpa Replybullet Posted: 28 Jul 2009 at 5:19am
I'm sorry, which SELECT statement may you be referring to?

I currently have a report with "Commodity Code", "Part Number", "Part Description", "Ship Quantity", "Prior Year Ship Quantity", "Total Sales $", and "Prior Year Sales $".  Of course, it's the "Prior Year..." columns that I would like to manipulate in order to get the previous year's stats.

The Select Expert shows:

not ({PART.PRODUCT_CODE} in ["Advertising", "Misc", "Packaging", "Repairs"]) and
{SHIPPER.SHIPPED_DATE} = {?Shipped Date} and
{CUSTOMER_ORDER.STATUS} = "C" and
{SHIPPER_LINE.USER_SHIPPED_QTY} <> 0.00