Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Subtracting a field based another field's value Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 2 Next >>
bigburb

Online Status: Offline
Quote bigburb Replybullet Topic: Subtracting a field based another field's value
    Posted: 07 Oct 2009 at 11:45am
Hello All, I'm a newbie so bear with me, running CR9. I'm trying to calculate a sum of employee hours and have it automatically subtract out the hours associated with lunch. The wall I'm hitting is that I don't know how to tell crystal that if "ind_code" = LUN then subtract the "act_hrs" associated with that record from the total.
IP IP Logged
DBlank

Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 07 Oct 2009 at 1:08pm
can you list your row level data and an example of how you need it calculated?
IP IP Logged
bigburb

Quote bigburb Replybullet Posted: 07 Oct 2009 at 1:33pm
Yes. Lunch is considered indirect labor for purposes of clocking in and out, but I don't want it included in the group summary. This is how I'd like it to look.

Name   Total Direct   Ind. Code   Total Indirect Ttl Hrs
Joe        1                                         0             1
Joe        0                      SHIP            1             1
Joe        0                      LUN            .5           .5
                                                         Total      2

I've tried using the Select Expert to choose only records that are <>LUN but it filters out all the direct labor too for some reason. I was hoping maybe there was a formula I could use to total all labor and subtract any indirect labor that used the indirect code of "LUN" for that employee.
IP IP Logged
FrnhtGLI

Quote FrnhtGLI Replybullet Posted: 07 Oct 2009 at 1:38pm
Group by Employee Name and create a running total:

global numbervar nTotalHrs:= nTotalHrs + (if {table.indcode}='LUN'
     then 0 else {table.ttlhrs});

nTotalHrs;