Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Shared variable with condition?? Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 2 Next >>
Cindy

Online Status: Offline
Quote Cindy Replybullet Topic: Shared variable with condition??
    Posted: 13 Oct 2009 at 10:38am
ConfusedI think I want to create a shared variable with conditions (If..else if) and I'm new to shared variables.  I want to place the results of several sub report formula's (count of N/A's) to the main report.

The main report breaks on(groups by) on types of programs (ProgramID).  I want to capture the count of NA for each program which is on the sub report.  My problem is the N/A count is different for each program as each program has different number of elements.  How can I write the following as a shared variable:
Dim Element
If ProgramID ='1' then Element =18
else if
ProgramID in ('5'.'7','8') then Element = 11
else if
ProgramID in ('3','6,') then Element = 10

I want to take the count of N/A for each subreport (Programs) and place the results in the main report. 

Can you direct me to reseach more on shared variables?  Thanks in advance for your assistance!!
Cindy
IP IP Logged
lockwelle

Quote lockwelle Replybullet Posted: 14 Oct 2009 at 6:55am
I don't understand the elements, but it would seem to be a side issue.  You want the count of NA from each subreport to appear in the main report. 
Make a shared variable in each subreport with a different name:
shared numbervar sub1;

increment it as needed so that it has the correct number, then in the main report make another formula to display it, which looks exactly the same.

Your subreport would actually have a formula to set the variable to 0, and one to increment it, possibly one to display it so that you can check the number is correct and that it matches the value in the main report.

HTH
IP IP Logged
Cindy

Quote Cindy Replybullet Posted: 14 Oct 2009 at 8:13am