Author |
Message |
avnkkishore
Newbie
Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Location: India
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
|
Topic: Report Creation using SDK Posted: 28 Mar 2007 at 3:25am |
Hi,
I am a newbie and i am using CR XI to create my first report. And here is my requirement.
I am having a XML file(s) which contains data. And i will have to select one XML file based on the logic (this is not known at design time).
Is it possible to create report using SDK.
I have searched net and got some references but all of them are saying that i need to set dataset (from the xml) to rpt at the design time which is not possible for me
any help is highly apprecited.
Thanks,
Kishore
|
IP Logged |
|
avnkkishore
Newbie
Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Location: India
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
|
Posted: 28 Mar 2007 at 3:41am |
BTW can any one please clarify me regarding the following...
1. Is there any advatage in using CR XI RAS version Vs CR XI Developer edition in terms of report creation using SDK.
2. Is it possible to create dynamic report (report design is not known at design time) with embedded RPT file?
Thanks in advance,
Kishore
|
IP Logged |
|
BrianBischof
Admin Group
Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2458
|
Posted: 28 Mar 2007 at 9:44am |
I'm pretty sure that RAS and Developer use the same API. VS 2005 is what uses a functionally reduced API.
You can create dynamic reports with CR Developer. Download a free 30 day trial to test out what you need to do.
|
Please support the forum! Tell others by linking to it on your blog or website:<a href="http://www.crystalreportsbook.com/forum/">Crystal Reports Forum</a>
|
IP Logged |
|
avnkkishore
Newbie
Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Location: India
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
|
Posted: 01 Apr 2007 at 10:21pm |
Hi Brian,
Thanks for the update. I have tried to create Crystal report using the developer edition. But i couldn't find the way to do that. Can you please help how to create it using .NET SDK developer edition with a few lines of code.
This is the way that i have created using RAS version.
ReportClientDocument rcDoc = new ReportClientDocument(); rcDoc.ReportAppServer = "localhost"; rcDoc.New();
// create table "Customer" Table tbl = new Table(); tbl.Name = "Customer";
// add this Customer table rcDoc.DatabaseController.AddTable(tbl, null);
// create a field object, "{Customer.Customer Name}" field = CreateFieldObject("Customer Name", "Customer", 0, 0, 2880, 200);
sec = rcDoc.ReportDefinition.DetailArea.Sections[0]; this.crystalReportViewer1.ReportSource = rcDoc;
Thanks in advance. Kishore
|
IP Logged |
|
s.frigger
Newbie
Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Location: Germany
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
|
Posted: 04 Jun 2007 at 6:45am |
I'm interested in this, too. For weeks I've tried it, but nothing works
|
IP Logged |
|
BrianBischof
Admin Group
Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2458
|
Posted: 04 Jun 2007 at 11:19am |
Sorry, but I haven't used the report creation API either. Doesn't CR come with documentation in the help files or on their website about this API?
|
Please support the forum! Tell others by linking to it on your blog or website:<a href="http://www.crystalreportsbook.com/forum/">Crystal Reports Forum</a>
|
IP Logged |
|
s.frigger
Newbie
Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Location: Germany
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
|
Posted: 04 Jun 2007 at 12:55pm |
Now I am a little confused. Just to make things a little bit clearer. My intention is to program an complete report from scratch. The company which I'm working with said something about using the Report Document class to create new reports. From what I've experienced this doesn't seem to be right? Or have I gotten it wrong? I just wanted to know which is the right SDK for writing a report from the scratch.
Greetings Stephan
|
IP Logged |
|
BrianBischof
Admin Group
Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2458
|
Posted: 04 Jun 2007 at 2:33pm |
The SDK that comes with CR.NET does NOT support RCAPI (Report Modification and Creation API). The ReportDocument class does not support creating a new report from scratch. It only supports loading an existing report into memory so that it can be printed or previewed. You have to use the report designer in CR.NET to create a new report.
If you want to create a report from scratch, you need to buy a license for RAS (Report Application Server) and then you have access to the RCAPI for CR.NET.
|
Please support the forum! Tell others by linking to it on your blog or website:<a href="http://www.crystalreportsbook.com/forum/">Crystal Reports Forum</a>
|
IP Logged |
|
avnkkishore
Newbie
Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Location: India
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
|
Posted: 05 Jun 2007 at 1:41am |
Yes, Its true. As Brian said you need to have RAS installed on your machine with version XI R2. I am using this and able to create new crystal report from scratch using ReportClientDocument.
Thanks, Kishore
|
IP Logged |
|
s.frigger
Newbie
Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Location: Germany
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
|
Posted: 05 Jun 2007 at 10:04am |
I just installed the 30 days trial version to get an overview of the features and I'd like to thank both of you for your kind support.
Greetings, Stephan
|
IP Logged |
|
|