Author |
Message |
danboy
Newbie
Joined: 26 Nov 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
|
Topic: Average Group Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 5:46am |
Hello,
I'm trying to do an average for the number of calls for each day. I have created the group which calculates the total number of tickets by day as shown below:
Do I need a variable, thought this would be easy enough for seems tricky...
Thanks
DateRecieved CountOfTickets
01/11/2012 |
24 |
02/11/2012 |
30 |
05/11/2012 |
25 |
06/11/2012 |
36 |
07/11/2012 |
41 |
08/11/2012 |
40 |
09/11/2012 |
25 |
12/11/2012 |
36 |
13/11/2012 |
29 |
14/11/2012 |
345 |
15/11/2012 |
195 |
16/11/2012 |
29 |
18/11/2012 |
1 |
19/11/2012 |
50 |
20/11/2012 |
38 |
21/11/2012 |
47 |
22/11/2012 |
31 |
23/11/2012 |
32 |
25/11/2012 |
1 |
Total |
1,053 |
Average |
??? |
|
IP Logged |
|
Sastry
Moderator
Joined: 16 Jul 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 537
|
Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 6:54pm |
HI You need to count the groups to get average. Try this formula : Whileprintingrecords; numbervar x; x:=x+1 // place this on your group and create one more formula to get average : Whileprintingrecords; // Place this formula where you want to show average. numbervar x; {YourTotalTickets) / x;
|
Thanks,
Sastry
|
IP Logged |
|
danboy
Newbie
Joined: 26 Nov 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
|
Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 8:57pm |
Hi,
This worked but now I get a Division by zero error on this field even though it worked first time, can this be cleaned up as the formula is correct?
I tried this:
Whileprintingrecords; // Place this formula where you want to show average. numbervar x; if {@CountTickets} / x = 0 then 0 else {@CountTickets} / x;
same error
and this:
Whileprintingrecords; // Place this formula where you want to show average. numbervar x; if {@GrpAvgForm} / x = 0 then //group formula {@CountTickets} / x;
Calculates all tickets
Thanks
Edited by danboy - 26 Nov 2012 at 10:08pm
|
IP Logged |
|
danboy
Newbie
Joined: 26 Nov 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
|
Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 10:27pm |
Just tried this:
Whileprintingrecords; // Place this formula where you want to show average. numbervar x; if {@GrpAvgForm} / x = 0 then 0 else {@CountTickets} / x;
When I out the formula in the header it counts all tickets, when I put it in the report footer it calculates a figure of 52 but checking the average in Excel the figure is 55?
|
IP Logged |
|
danboy
Newbie
Joined: 26 Nov 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
|
Posted: 26 Nov 2012 at 10:40pm |
The below formula works but only in the report footer, really want to be able to place the formula anywhere? any help you can give to eliminate the division by zero error would be good.
Whileprintingrecords; // Place in report footer only. numbervar x; //if {@GrpAvgForm} / x = 0 then 0 else If x = 0 then 0 else {@CountTickets} / x;
|
IP Logged |
|
Sastry
Moderator
Joined: 16 Jul 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 537
|
Posted: 27 Nov 2012 at 1:16am |
Hi I am trying to count number of date grups and that should devide your sum of all date tickets. My first formula will increase the 'x' variable value when it encounter a new group. So, this formula always on your group header or group footer. 2nd formula is going to divide sum of your tickets by count. If you are getting devide by zero error means, placing of formulas in wrong sections. Only you should get division by zero when you don't have any data. Try this in my second formula : Whildprintingrecords; numbervar x; else 0
|
Thanks,
Sastry
|
IP Logged |
|
danboy
Newbie
Joined: 26 Nov 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
|
Posted: 27 Nov 2012 at 1:40am |
Hi
I understand that, the below is in the group header:
Whileprintingrecords; numbervar x; x:=x+1 // place in group
The formula does work in the report footer not the report header where it is returning the division by zero error...
the new one also does not work in the report header but does in the report footer...
Thanks
|
IP Logged |
|
Sastry
Moderator
Joined: 16 Jul 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 537
|
Posted: 27 Nov 2012 at 2:12am |
Hi This is a running total and if you place this on report header then the initial value of the variable is always zero. So, it will not work any time. It will work only in report footer.
|
Thanks,
Sastry
|
IP Logged |
|
danboy
Newbie
Joined: 26 Nov 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
|
Posted: 27 Nov 2012 at 2:20am |
Hi
Thanks for your help much appreciated, it did honestly work in the report header after a refresh, strange...good to have the solution though so thanks again.
:)
|
IP Logged |
|
|