Author |
Message |
billux123
Newbie
Joined: 03 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
|
Topic: Change data provider in CR runtime code? Posted: 10 Aug 2017 at 9:28am |
Is there any way to change the data provider in the crystal runtime code to a different provider than what was set in the IDE while building the report? I have a situation where I have over 600 rpt files that were created with "Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server" and I need to now run these reports with the "SQL Server Native Client 11.0" provider on our servers with the crystal runtime. We really don't want to have to go back and manually switch the provider in all of our report files!
Thanks!
|
IP Logged |
|
hilfy
Admin Group
Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3702
|
Posted: 11 Aug 2017 at 5:01am |
If you're using the "runtime", that means that you're running the reports through an application. Is this an application that you or your employer have written or is it a third-party application.
If you or your employer have written the application, then yes, you can change the provider at run time. You can find an example for how to do this here: https://wiki.scn.sap.com/wiki/display/BOBJ/Crystal+Reports+for+.NET+SDK+Samples#CrystalReportsfor.NETSDKSamples-Database.
If you're running a third-party application, then there's probably no way of doing this at runtime. However, it wouldn't be difficult to write an application that will open each report, change the data provider, then save the report so that it has the correct provider when it runs.
-Dell
|
|
IP Logged |
|
billux123
Newbie
Joined: 03 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
|
Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 4:27am |
Originally posted by hilfy
If you're using the "runtime", that means that you're running the reports through an application. Is this an application that you or your employer have written or is it a third-party application.
If you or your employer have written the application, then yes, you can change the provider at run time. You can find an example for how to do this here: https://wiki.scn.sap.com/wiki/display/BOBJ/Crystal+Reports+for+.NET+SDK+Samples#CrystalReportsfor.NETSDKSamples-Database.
If you're running a third-party application, then there's probably no way of doing this at runtime. However, it wouldn't be difficult to write an application that will open each report, change the data provider, then save the report so that it has the correct provider when it runs.
-Dell
Yes I am trying to run reports from with in my own custom built application. Do you know what property I can use to change the provider? I looked threw the examples you provided and could not find an example of when the provider was being changed.
|
IP Logged |
|
hilfy
Admin Group
Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3702
|
Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 5:12am |
Although this talks about parameters, it also contains info about how to change the database driver.
https://blogs.sap.com/2016/02/17/how-to-parameters-in-crystal-reports-for-visual-studio-net/
It has a link to an SAP Note where you can download the code for the application.
-Dell
Edited by hilfy - 17 Aug 2017 at 5:13am
|
|
IP Logged |
|
billux123
Newbie
Joined: 03 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
|
Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 4:52am |
I have written code that changes the provider info in the logon properties before the runtime exports the file. But I still get a logon failed exception. Do I have to change the provider with code then save it back to the rpt file before I try to run the file with the runtime?
|
IP Logged |
|
hilfy
Admin Group
Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3702
|
Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 5:40am |
I'm not sure. You may have to.
-Dell
|
|
IP Logged |
|
billux123
Newbie
Joined: 03 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
|
Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 7:41am |
Originally posted by hilfy
I'm not sure. You may have to.
-Dell
So after I changed all the properties I added code to write the rpt file to disk. I opened the rpt file with the Crystal IDE and all the database connection settings were blown away. Why would this happen?
|
IP Logged |
|
billux123
Newbie
Joined: 03 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
|
Posted: 22 Aug 2017 at 7:57am |
I am almost a 100% sure this can't be done
|
IP Logged |
|
billux123
Newbie
Joined: 03 Aug 2017
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8
|
Posted: 25 Aug 2017 at 9:33am |
I solved it! I followed the info from this post.
https://blogs.sap.com/2011/09/02/when-to-use-the-replace-connection-method-using-the-crystal-reports-or-inproc-ras-sdk-for-net/
|
IP Logged |
|
hilfy
Admin Group
Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3702
|
Posted: 25 Aug 2017 at 10:18am |
Awesome!
-Dell
|
|
IP Logged |
|
|