Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2022 : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: Record Selection Formula Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
josh2009
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Quote josh2009 Replybullet Topic: Record Selection Formula
    Posted: 20 Aug 2009 at 12:19pm
I'm using an old version in 8.5 and need some help with the record formula editor. I can easily prompt for dates before running the report by creating parameters but I am having problems when using the "like" keyword. My formula is -
 
{?Start Date} >={Event_Cath.Date_of_Cath} And
{?End Date} <= {Event_Cath.Date_of_Cath} And
{?Procedure Name} like '%{Cath_Extension.IR_ProcedureType}%'
Dates are fine but the procedure name is problematic. What am I doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks
IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9053
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 20 Aug 2009 at 12:47pm
{Event_Cath.Date_of_Cath} in {?Start Date} to {?End Date}
 And
instr({Cath_Extension.IR_ProcedureType},{?Procedure Name})>0
IP IP Logged
josh2009
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Quote josh2009 Replybullet Posted: 20 Aug 2009 at 1:03pm
Thanks. It works if I enter an exact match (discrete value). If entered say "biopsy" which in sql if I did like '%biopsy%', it would return several rows. How do I do that in Crystal Reports. thanks
IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9053
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 20 Aug 2009 at 1:17pm
This acts very similar to the SQL LIKE %xxx% except it returns the numeric value of the location of where the string begins (0 if not found, 1 to x if found) rather then the boolean.
 
However, I left out the case sensitive portion (defaults to case sensitive), if you add then ,1 at the end it will make it not case sensitive which may have been the issue.
instr({Cath_Extension.IR_ProcedureType},{?Procedure Name},1)>0
 
or you can use  
{?Procedure Name} like "*{Cath_Extension.IR_ProcedureType}*"
 

 
IP IP Logged
josh2009
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Quote josh2009 Replybullet Posted: 20 Aug 2009 at 2:03pm
I tried the ff -
 
{Event_Cath.Date_of_Cath} in {?Start Date} to {?End Date}
 And
InStr (1,{Cath_Extension.IR_ProcedureType}, {?Procedure Name}) > 0
 
And it still only takes discrete values so if it is not an exact match, then it does not return any rows. When I added the ',1' after procedure name, an error message came up telling me there were too many arguments. I also tried the like clause and it wouldnt take my parameter.
IP IP Logged
josh2009
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Quote josh2009 Replybullet Posted: 20 Aug 2009 at 2:15pm
I also tride the ff formula -
 
{Event_Cath.Date_of_Cath} in {?Start Date} to {?End Date} And
{?Procedure Name} in {Cath_Extension.IR_ProcedureType}
With this I am able to enter a word say "Biopsy"but it is case sensitive. If I had the casing right, I am able to return every row that had "Biopsy" in it. How do I fix the casing? Thanks
IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9053
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 20 Aug 2009 at 2:22pm

how is {?Procedure Name} being populated?...are there spaces on this? Do you need to trim it?

break this down to figure out what is going on...Create a formula as "TestInstring"
instr({Cath_Extension.IR_ProcedureType},trim({?Procedure Name}),1)>0
place it on your details section.
It should be TRUE whenever the text from your paramter falls inside your IRPRocType field. If not are there recurring circumstances that you think it should be doesn't that tells you why?
This has to be an exact match (not case sensitive because of the ,1 I added)
Example
"Biopsy" will match  "In a biopsy" but not "in a bi-opsy"
or
"Biopsy    " will not match "biopsy" becasue of the spaces (hence trying the trim)
 
Edit : you can use lcase() to deal with your case issue in you other post...
lcase(field) like lcase(field)


Edited by DBlank - 20 Aug 2009 at 2:23pm
IP IP Logged
josh2009
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Quote josh2009 Replybullet Posted: 21 Aug 2009 at 6:08am
Thanks again for the help. I really appreciate it. The lcase worked great for me. I will try the trim in a little bit here when I get a chance. Thanks.
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.