Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: Combine two files into one Post Reply Post New Topic
<< Prev Page  of 3 Next >>
Author Message
Kitty1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 159
Quote Kitty1 Replybullet Posted: 26 Jan 2011 at 2:49am
thank you.   i hate to sound stupid, but i am so new at this.  how and where would i enter this command?  and would i link to both files or just one ?
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3701
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 26 Jan 2011 at 3:17am
In the Database Expert, you would replace both tables with a command that selects everything you need for the report.  To add a command, open the connection on the left side of the screen and look for "Add Command".  If it's not there, then the type of database you're using doesn't allow commands.  I can't think of a different way of getting the data in the format that you need, though.
 
-Dell
IP IP Logged
Kitty1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 159
Quote Kitty1 Replybullet Posted: 27 Jan 2011 at 7:14am
Thank you SO MUCH!  I think I'm headed in the right direction now.  Still some bugs to work out, but that seems to do the trick of combining the two tables!    Now I want to somehow ADD to the inventory on hand if it's a purchase order and subtract if it's a work order.  keep a running total by date.  any suggestions ?   I really appreciate all your help!!!  Tongue
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3701
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 27 Jan 2011 at 11:05am

Because you just need the starting inventory, this is going to be a little complicated, but it is doable.

1.  Add a string to each Select in the union query that will identify which table the data is coming from.  This is as simple as adding something like the following to the PO Select
 
'P' as TableType
 
and this to the WO Select:
 
'W' as TableType
 
2.  While you're editing the command, also add the inventory quantity to each of the select statements.  This will bring in the same value for all records for each part, but that's ok - we can work with that.  For this example I'm going to use the field name "QtyOnHand" for this data.
 
3. Create a formula that can be used to summarize the quantity changes.  I'm going to call this {@QtyForInventory}.  It will look something like this:
 
If {command.TableType} = 'P' then {command.qty} else ({command.qty} * -1)
 
4.  If you need just the final quantity, create a formula that looks like this:
 
{command.QtyOnHand} + sum({@QtyForInventory}, {command.PartNumber})
 
Let me know if you need a running total instead, that will take a little more work.
 
-Dell
IP IP Logged
Kitty1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 159
Quote Kitty1 Replybullet Posted: 28 Jan 2011 at 5:20am

Hello, yes I'm looking to have a running total on each line.   for the first record I want to add or subtract to the beginning qty on hand, and then on the next line I want to add or subtract from the result of the previous record, and then continue the same on the next line... for example:

Part No. 2041
 
Qty on Hand  1,421
 
work order/po#                qty                     date              Inventory Balance
 
25633                             2098                  1/1/2011                 3519
8407                                 100                  3/28/2011               3419
8410                                   20                  3/28/2011               3399
 
 
I can't figure out how to do this.  Any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated, you have been so awesome already!  :-)
 
IP IP Logged
Kitty1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 159
Quote Kitty1 Replybullet Posted: 28 Jan 2011 at 5:28am
p.s.  This is how my command looks now, how would i change it?  i tried adding the p and w for tabletypes but got an error message.
 
Select PART, PURCHASE_ORDER as ORDERNO, DATE_DUE_LINE as ORDERDATE,QTY_ORDER as QTY from V_PO_LINES
Union
Select PART,JOB as OrderNumber,DATE_DUE as ORDERDATE,QTY_COMMITTED as QTY from V_JOB_COMMITMENTS
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3701
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 28 Jan 2011 at 7:08am
What is the name of the inventory table?  Does it have a PART field to link to?  What is the name of the field that has the qty on hand?
 
-Dell
IP IP Logged
Kitty1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 159
Quote Kitty1 Replybullet Posted: 28 Jan 2011 at 8:37am
the Inventory table name is V_INVENTORY_MSTR  and the part number field is PART
IP IP Logged
Kitty1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 159
Quote Kitty1 Replybullet Posted: 28 Jan 2011 at 8:38am

sorry...the qty on hand field is called QTY_ONHAND

thanks!

IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3701
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 28 Jan 2011 at 9:26am
Change your SQL to something like this:
Select 
  'P' as TABLETYPE, 
  po.PART,
  po.PURCHASE_ORDER as ORDERNO,
  po.DATE_DUE_LINE as ORDERDATE,
  po.QTY_ORDER as QTY,
  inv.QTY_ONHAND
from V_PO_LINES as po
  inner join V_INVENTORY_MSTR as inv on po.PART = inv.PART

Union

Select 
  'W' as TABLETYPE,
  jc.PART,
  jc.JOB as OrderNumber,
  jc.DATE_DUE as ORDERDATE,
  jc.QTY_COMMITTED as QTY,
  inv.QTY_ONHAND
from V_JOB_COMMITMENTS
  inner join V_INVENTORY_MSTR as inv on po.PART = inv.PART

Then you'll need to do the following:
 
1.  Create the {@QtyForInventory} formula as specified above. 
 
2.  Group your report on {command.PART}
 
3.  Create a running total (I'll call it {#Inventory}):
Field to Summarize:  {@QtyForInventory}
Evaluate: On Each Record
Reset: On change of group {command.PART}
 
4.  Create a formula: {command.QTY_ONHAND} + {#Inventory}
 
This will display your running total on the inventory.
 
-Dell
 


Edited by hilfy - 28 Jan 2011 at 9:27am
IP IP Logged
<< Prev Page  of 3 Next >>
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.016 seconds.