Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: Assignments resolved by one individual Post Reply Post New Topic
<< Prev Page  of 3 Next >>
Author Message
nmercure
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Quote nmercure Replybullet Posted: 11 Oct 2007 at 11:51am
Whoops....spoke too soon. It runs from query analyzer, but locks up Crystal and my database when I run it from Crystal.
IP IP Logged
jkwrpc
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 432
Quote jkwrpc Replybullet Posted: 11 Oct 2007 at 2:51pm
I find that Query Analyzer  puts in too much stuff that is not needed and makes it hard to read. Makes troubleshooting harder for me. Give this SQL a try. Run it in Query Analyzer first then if it is working run it in CR:
 
SELECT
CallLog.CallID,
CallLog .ClosedDate, 
CallLog .RecvdDate,
CallLog .CallType,
CallLog .CallStatus,
CallLog .Priority,
CallLog .RecvdTime,
CallLog .ClosedTime,
Asgnmnt.Assignee,
Asgnmnt.GroupName,
Asgnmnt.DateAssign,
Asgnmnt.DateResolv,
CallLoog.CallDesc
FROM CallLog
LEFT OUTER JOIN dbo.Asgnmnt ON CallLog.CallID = Asgnmnt.CallID
GROUP BY CallLog.CallID, Asgnmnt.Assignee,
HAVING   CallLog.CallStatus = 'Closed' AND COUNT (Asgnmnt.Assignee) = 1
 
Regards,
John W.
IP IP Logged
nmercure
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Quote nmercure Replybullet Posted: 12 Oct 2007 at 5:39am
Now this looks more like something I can understand.......I don't mind saying I am really in over my head here. My co-worker is the one that ran it in Query Analyzer which I know absolutely nothing about.
Anyway, I used your SQL and it doesn't like 'having'. Do you know what would be an alternative to that word ?
Thanks John,
Nancy
IP IP Logged
jkwrpc
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 432
Quote jkwrpc Replybullet Posted: 12 Oct 2007 at 6:53am
I will guess there is an error because call status is not in the the Group By statement. Having is an SQL keyword and should run in any SQL compliant database.
 
Query Analyzer is an MS SQL tool that allows you to  create and run SQL statements. If you use its query builder feature to create statements it tends to  create them the way it thinks it should be. I like mine cleaner.
 
Try this one I moved call status to a WHERE statement
 
SELECT
CallLog.CallID,
CallLog .ClosedDate, 
CallLog .RecvdDate,
CallLog .CallType,
CallLog .CallStatus,
CallLog .Priority,
CallLog .RecvdTime,
CallLog .ClosedTime,
Asgnmnt.Assignee,
Asgnmnt.GroupName,
Asgnmnt.DateAssign,
Asgnmnt.DateResolv,
CallLoog.CallDesc
FROM CallLog
LEFT OUTER JOIN dbo.Asgnmnt ON CallLog.CallID = Asgnmnt.CallID
WHERE CallLog.CallStatus = 'Closed'
GROUP BY CallLog.CallID, Asgnmnt.Assignee,
HAVING   COUNT (Asgnmnt.Assignee) = 1
 
Regards,
 
John W.
IP IP Logged
nmercure
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Quote nmercure Replybullet Posted: 12 Oct 2007 at 7:00am
It choked on Having again. Incorrect syntax near the keyword 'having'.
IP IP Logged
jkwrpc
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 432
Quote jkwrpc Replybullet Posted: 12 Oct 2007 at 8:27am
I hate it when this happens, dont you. Its a problem not being able to test the code.
 
So here try this one.  There was a comma at the end of the Group By statement (after Asgnmnt.Assignee)that should not have been there. That will raise the error you have been seeing. Its always the little stuff. Hope this fixes it for you.
----------------------------------
SELECT
CallLog.CallID,
CallLog .ClosedDate, 
CallLog .RecvdDate,
CallLog .CallType,
CallLog .CallStatus,
CallLog .Priority,
CallLog .RecvdTime,
CallLog .ClosedTime,
Asgnmnt.Assignee,
Asgnmnt.GroupName,
Asgnmnt.DateAssign,
Asgnmnt.DateResolv,
CallLoog.CallDesc
FROM CallLog
LEFT OUTER JOIN dbo.Asgnmnt ON CallLog.CallID = Asgnmnt.CallID
WHERE CallLog.CallStatus = 'Closed'
GROUP BY CallLog.CallID, Asgnmnt.Assignee
HAVING   COUNT (Asgnmnt.Assignee) = 1
 
Regrards
 
John W.
IP IP Logged
nmercure
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Quote nmercure Replybullet Posted: 12 Oct 2007 at 12:56pm

Now I get column 'Calllog.ClosedDate' is invalid in the select list because it is not contained in either an aggregate function or the GROUP BY clause'

Thanks so much again for your help.
 
IP IP Logged
jkwrpc
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 432
Quote jkwrpc Replybullet Posted: 12 Oct 2007 at 1:15pm

Try this one

=============================
SELECT
CallLog.CallID,
CallLog .ClosedDate, 
CallLog .RecvdDate,
CallLog .CallType,
CallLog .CallStatus,
CallLog .Priority,
CallLog .RecvdTime,
CallLog .ClosedTime,
Asgnmnt.Assignee,
Asgnmnt.GroupName,
Asgnmnt.DateAssign,
Asgnmnt.DateResolv,
CallLoog.CallDesc
FROM CallLog
LEFT OUTER JOIN dbo.Asgnmnt ON CallLog.CallID = Asgnmnt.CallID
WHERE CallLog.CallStatus = 'Closed'
GROUP BY
CallLog.CallID,
CallLog .ClosedDate, 
CallLog .RecvdDate,
CallLog .CallType,
CallLog .CallStatus,
CallLog .Priority,
CallLog .RecvdTime,
CallLog .ClosedTime,
Asgnmnt.Assignee,
Asgnmnt.GroupName,
Asgnmnt.DateAssign,
Asgnmnt.DateResolv,
CallLoog.CallDesc
HAVING   COUNT (Asgnmnt.Assignee) = 1
=======================
There can't be much more to try...
 
Regards,
 
John W.
IP IP Logged
nmercure
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 12
Quote nmercure Replybullet Posted: 12 Oct 2007 at 2:13pm
I am a true pain in the b@tt.
Now I get The text, ntext,, and image data types cannt be compared or sorted, except when using IS NULL or LIKE operator.
 
John, I truly don't mind if you give up on me. This is more than you bargained for.....
IP IP Logged
jkwrpc
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 432
Quote jkwrpc Replybullet Posted: 12 Oct 2007 at 8:58pm
Actually it me that needs to offer an apology. The last SQL statement I posted wont give you what you want. While it may have made me feel better it was not much help in the end.  It was me being frustrated by not being able to run the code on my end and give you a correct answer.
 
I believe we need to go back to using table aliases.  I will work on creating a more thoughtful answer this weekend.
 
My apologies, and you are not the pain. Hang in there we will get you a working solution or at least to the point where you come up with the solution.
 
Regards,
 
John W.
IP IP Logged
<< Prev Page  of 3 Next >>
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.