Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: Printing employee names Post Reply Post New Topic
Jakecola

Online Status: Offline
Quote Jakecola Replybullet Topic: Printing employee names
    Posted: 05 May 2012 at 10:50am

I have a problem that maybe someone can offer their expertise toward solving for me.  I’m fairly new to Crystal Reports and need to print the name of two employees at the bottom of a survey form.  The reason for the breakdown is I don’t want to print the employees’ full name. Just the initials so they can be identified only by the staff and not the person receiving the survey form to complete. It's a privacy thing. Here is what I’ve done so far to reach a solution and the problem facing me. The two employee names ‘employee1’ and ‘employee2’ are each in a separate field as follows:

‘employee1’ (Last, First); ‘employee2’ (Last, First)

In formulas, I broke down the fields as follows to reach the result at the bottom of the page for employee1. 

DRV FNAME: stringvar firstname :=split({Forms_Standard_Drivers.DriverName},",")[2]

DRV LNAME:  stringvar lastname :=split({Forms_Standard_Drivers.DriverName},",")[1];

DRV_INIT:  LEFT ({@DRV LNAME}, 3)

DRVF_INIT: LEFT ({@DRV FNAME}, 2)

Final fields at bottom of report for employee 1

DRV_INIT     DRVF_INIT

I did the same thing for the second employee, ie:

ATT FNAME:  stringvar firstname :=split({Forms_Standard_Drivers.AttendantName},",")[2] (etc., etc.)

The solution worked fine until there was no name returned in one or the other fields.  This kicked out an array error and printing would not complete.