Writing Code
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports for Visual Studio 2005 and Newer : Writing Code
Message Icon Topic: New to Crystal Reports Seeking Advice Post Reply Post New Topic
kmckenzie

Online Status: Offline
Quote kmckenzie Replybullet Topic: New to Crystal Reports Seeking Advice
    Posted: 31 Jan 2007 at 8:01am
Hello all.

I am new to Crystal Reports.  I have NEVER used it before!  So...I am in need of creating a report based off of a dataset result.  All database connections are handled by a class, and the datasets are handled in another.  Heres the senario .  I have a form that uses a dataset to fill some properties, which in turn are used to bind some text boxes.  This form has all the needed information I need to create the report and print (a single record).  I'm not sure how to pass the properties to a report.

I've created a report and used the class as the datasource.  I put those fields on the form, but I can't get any data to fill those fields.  Do I need to create a new query somewhere in the report and use a parameter to extract the data?  Does Bischof book cover this in detail, and could I understand it with out having to read 500 pages?  I'm kinda on a time limit, but would be interested in learning more in the near future.

BTW, My code is VB .NET and I am access a local Access database.

Thanks for any help you could provide.

Ken McKenzie
IP IP Logged
BrianBischof
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote BrianBischof Replybullet Posted: 31 Jan 2007 at 8:47am
Hey Ken,

Since you're brand new to CR, you probably want to pick up a copy of my book b/c you'll probably have lots of questions as you keep working with reports. But it sounds like for now you just need something quick and dirty.