Tips and Tricks
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2016 : Tips and Tricks
Message Icon Topic: Call Crystal SQL Command Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
jsmarlow7102
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Mar 2013
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Quote jsmarlow7102 Replybullet Topic: Call Crystal SQL Command
    Posted: 17 Feb 2016 at 6:46am
Hello All:
    I have a need to call a complex T-SQL script that live as a command in my .rpt file.   This command I need for it to be accessed by a formula field that I will create.   Then too, this formula field needs to pass a parameter (from an existing SQL table that is already in the report) to the command so it picks up the correct record.

Is this possible in Crystal?   If so, how do I pass the parameter to the command?    Thanks all.
IP IP Logged
hilfy
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3668
Quote hilfy Replybullet Posted: 10 May 2016 at 11:55am
The command will run before the formula is processed, so there's no way to do this unless you can put the command in a subreport and pass the parameter from the main report to the subreport.

For information about the right way to use Commands, see my blog post here: http://scn.sap.com/community/crystal-reports/blog/2015/04/01/best-practices-when-using-commands-with-crystal-reports

-Dell
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.