Tips and Tricks
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports for Visual Studio 2005-2015 : Tips and Tricks
Message Icon Topic: making a page break in cross tab report Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
umer
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Location: Pakistan
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Quote umer Replybullet Topic: making a page break in cross tab report
    Posted: 06 Feb 2008 at 8:38pm
I am new in this excellent forum.
 
can anyone guide me as how I can make a page break when the department changes in a report.
 
there is an attendance report and in row I have department,empname and designation.I need a page break as the department changes.
IP IP Logged
IdoMillet
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 26 Oct 2007
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 99
Quote IdoMillet Replybullet Posted: 12 Feb 2008 at 3:04pm
afaik, there is no way to control this inside a Crosstab.  You could break the CrossTab and insert it inside the Department Group Footer.  That way, you get a "different" Crosstab for each Department and you can turn on the New Page Before property (or the Keep Together) for the section/group.

hth,
- Ido
view, e-mail, export, burst, distribute, and schedule Crystal Reports.
www.MilletSoftware.com
IP IP Logged
to_mikez
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Quote to_mikez Replybullet Posted: 13 Feb 2008 at 12:41pm
We've managed to do this.
 
1.  You *must* put the cross-tab itself in Group Header #1 (pre-req).
 
2.  The GH1 field would be the field you want to break on, in your case, "department" (via right-click. "Change Group", selecting department rom the first dropdown on the "Common" tab).
 
3.  Right-click on the Goup Header in the Design tab, select "Section Expert".
 
4.  Select the "New Page After" checkbox.
 
That's it.
 
 
IP IP Logged
umer
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Location: Pakistan
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Quote umer Replybullet Posted: 13 Feb 2008 at 8:20pm
Thanks for your reply.I have done that but a new problem arises before making a group we have all 30 days attendance coming in the report.Now  if in one department there is no one coming on sunday it skips that day but we want all the 30 days regardless of someone coming that day or not.
Please help as I have to submit the report as early as possible.
 
Thanks
 
Umer Riaz 
IP IP Logged
yehudafr
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Mar 2009
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Quote yehudafr Replybullet Posted: 09 Mar 2009 at 10:25am
Thanks so much. The idea of using Groups and moving to group header was a major help. Thanks!
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.032 seconds.