Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Blank records exporting to Excel Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
crooksb
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2017
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Quote crooksb Replybullet Topic: Blank records exporting to Excel
    Posted: 08 Jun 2018 at 6:51am
When I export a report to Excel (Data only .xlsx), i get many blank records. I could get a file of 175000 records of which 174000 are blank. I can get rid of the blank lines but it is a pain and is only going to get worse. Anybody have a solution? I think it has to do with Subreports and have seen some recommendations thru Google but they do not seem to work.
IP IP Logged
kevlray
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1585
Quote kevlray Replybullet Posted: 11 Jun 2018 at 4:37am
Just a reminder when exporting to Excel. The fields have to be lined up with each other and the same size.  Also no extra space in the detail line (fields should be at the 0 y location).  Do a 'Fit Section' on detail line.  If there is grouping, then the same rule applies.  If you are getting extra columns, then you will have to put column headers next to each other and make them the same size as the fields and no space between fields.
IP IP Logged
crooksb
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2017
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3
Quote crooksb Replybullet Posted: 12 Jun 2018 at 9:43am
Thanks for your reply. I tried Fit Section and starting all fields at 0 Y position but still have many blank lines. I don't have an issue with columns - they are fine. I am suppressing all sections that don't print as well as blank subreports. 
IP IP Logged
Beso90
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 12 Jun 2014
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 48
Quote Beso90 Replybullet Posted: 12 Jun 2018 at 11:26am
You're out of luck, buddy. If there is a subreport, you will get blank rows
IP IP Logged
kevlray
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1585
Quote kevlray Replybullet Posted: 14 Jun 2018 at 4:34am
I did not see the sub-report line.  Seems like I have gotten it to work before.  But I do not remember the solution.
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.