Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: show last month closing as this monthopening entry Post Reply Post New Topic
Page  of 2 Next >>
AMMAR

Online Status: Offline
Quote AMMAR Replybullet Topic: show last month closing as this monthopening entry
    Posted: 04 May 2009 at 5:58am
hello
i am still new to crystal, please could anyone help with the following.

i need to write a diesel consumption report, my report is broken up into groups and each group displays data on a specific vehicle registration. it looks as follows

reg                 -       mileage  -   previous mileage  - date
NCL020GP            10000                  0                    11/02/2009  
NCL020GP            10500           10000                   15/02/2009
NCL020GP            11000           10500                   18/02/2009

this report is run between 2 dates using the previous() function to get the previous mileage reading. it all runs fine except that the first previous entry display a 0, instead of bringing in the entery from the previous month.

is there any formula i can use to bring in the previous months final entry as an opening entry for the current month?

my formula currently looks as follows

If Previous ({DIESELOIL.FLEET_NUM}) = GroupName ({DIESELOIL.FLEET_NUM}) Then
      Previous ({DIESELOIL.ODOMETER})
Else
     0;
i need to put something instead of the "0" to display last months closing figure

your help is greatly appreciated
Ammar
IP IP Logged
lockwelle

Quote lockwelle Replybullet Posted: 04 May 2009 at 6:36am

you will need to get the data from the database.  The first record, won't know it's previous if you don't tell it what it is.

IP IP Logged
AMMAR

Quote AMMAR Replybullet Posted: 04 May 2009 at 6:44am