Message Icon Topic: grouping and counting Post Reply Post New Topic
AdamField
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
Quote AdamField Replybullet Topic: grouping and counting
    Posted: 04 Jun 2009 at 12:50am
Hey all,

I'm quite new to CR and nobody here in the company that is a expert on this stuff so i'm hoping i can get some hints with a report i have to make.

what we have is a SQL db with a couple of fields

Date           /      artikel code    /      invoice number / groep   / customer number

2009/1/1        NOTHP-302512       F090100001             NOT          12548
2009/1/1        TASBEL301518       F090100001             TAS            32584
2009/1/1        HDDMAX105684      F090100002             HDD          12548

basicly what is in this db is all the sell my shop did sorted by invoice number (it has about 20 000 lines)
It's like a big list of all the invoice details (what articles the customers bought)

Now they want me to make a cross selling report
so they see for a customer who bought a notebook(NOT) who also bought for example a bag for it (TAS) or a antivirus ....

what i made now (and i guess is wrong :p) is 2 counters on record niveau
1 that gives 1 to a formula if the line is from the group notebook
another 1 that gives 1 to another formula if it's from one of the groups that i count in cross selling (anti virus / bags / ...)

then i group on invoice number with as formula that the sum of those counters both have to be higher as 1

that gives me a list of all the invoices that both have a notebook and one the cross selling groups

now i need to count those line seperate but when i do a count on for example the notebooks it gives me a total of all the notebooks not only the ones that also have a cross selling article.

I guess i'm starting it the wrong way but hoping on some info here

ps: i'm realy new so no clue how to make stuff like dynamic variables and cross record counters and other cool stuff :(

Tnx for the help already !!!