Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Problem performing a summary on a calculated field Post Reply Post New Topic
SamB

Online Status: Offline
Quote SamB Replybullet Topic: Problem performing a summary on a calculated field
    Posted: 08 Jun 2009 at 4:36am
Hi

Firstly, I'll just say that I'm quite new to Crystal Reports, so if I'm asking a dumb question, please forgive me, and you may have to answer in easy language!

The problem I'm having is performing a summary on a field which has already been calculated. For example, I create a report which is grouped by customer, and I do a count, placed in the group footer, to show how many orders each customer has placed.
I then want to do something to show how many customers have placed one order, how many have placed two orders, how many placed three, etc etc. This is where I hit a snag and it doesn't work.

Any help?

Thanks
IP IP Logged
lockwelle

Quote lockwelle Replybullet Posted: 08 Jun 2009 at 6:27am
What makes the solution difficult is how many orders a customer can have.

What I would suggest, is to use an array (unfortunately, I don't use these) or a delimited string.  The array, I think allows you to resize it.  If you know the max number of orders, you can either 1 set the array size, set the delimited string, or set a list of shared variables.

regardless, of how you store the data, the next step would be in the group footer to create a formula that will increment the array/string/shared variable.

At the end of the report, you would have a several formulas to display back the results of the array/string/shared variables.

Sorry I can't be more specific, without knowing a limit, it becomes hard to determine a solution.
IP IP Logged
SamB

Quote SamB Replybullet Posted: 08 Jun 2009 at 7:16am