Data Connectivity
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2022 : Data Connectivity
Message Icon Topic: Using two database on two different servers Post Reply Post New Topic
ichachan

Online Status: Offline
Quote ichachan Replybullet Topic: Using two database on two different servers
    Posted: 21 Oct 2009 at 4:31pm
Hello,

I'm new at Crystal Report, can anyone please help me?

I'm trying to grab data from two separate database on two different servers. Let's say Database_A and Database_B. I linked a table in Database_A with a table in Database_B as a left outer join (link is not enforced).

However for some reason it never returns any results. I do get correct results when only working on Database_A, but not when Database_B is joined.

I'm getting suspicious when I check on 'Show SQL Query', it actually returns two queries that are not related to each other. It looks like something like this:

SELECT "Database_A".*
FROM   "Database_A".dbo."table_A" (and outer joins with table B, table C etc)
 WHERE  (Insert long where statement here...)

SELECT "Database_B".*
FROM   "Database_B".dbo."table_B"
WHERE  (Insert long where statement here...)

Are they supposed to be in one query if the join works? I'm really really confused.... can anyone help me on this one? I've been working on this report for about a month... not a rush one... but I don't feel good to my manager about this Dead

What would be the best practice to join two database from two different servers?

Thanks in advanced for your help!

-Elizabeth

Edited by ichachan - 21 Oct 2009 at 4:31pm
IP IP Logged
lockwelle

Quote lockwelle Replybullet Posted: 23 Oct 2009 at 6:33am

That you can even look at the 2 databases is a surprise to me, since most reports are created via a connection and only 1 connection is allowed, and it usually to just 1 db.

Are you running this from an application or stand alone?
Can you create stored procs?