Report Design
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2020 : Report Design
Message Icon Topic: How Do You Add A New Detail Section? Post Reply Post New Topic
txdave36

Online Status: Offline
Quote txdave36 Replybullet Topic: How Do You Add A New Detail Section?
    Posted: 12 Mar 2010 at 9:50am
Hi guys,

I am new to Crystal, and every freaking tutorial only shows how to add fiels horizontally across on the detail section.

I want to add field data vertically, and since the detail section is so small, I need to create a new detail section.

I clicked in the gray area on the left side and selected insert new detail section. Unfortunately, this mixes section B with section A, and all my records get jumbled together. How can I make section B completely underneath section A?

Here is a screenshot:

IP IP Logged
kevlray
Admin Group
Admin Group

Quote kevlray Replybullet Posted: 12 Mar 2010 at 11:04am
You do not do it with mulitple detail sections, you would have to add a group and put the 'details' in the footer of the group.

Of course maybe you are missing how CR works in general.  I am not really sure what you are trying to accomplish.  You can expand the detail section vertically and put more fields in it.
IP IP Logged
flanman

Quote flanman Replybullet Posted: 12 Mar 2010 at 12:03pm
I've done this in the past.  To separate detail sectionA and B just use a horizontal line below A or above B to give the data separation. Also you can supress either one if you don't need to display either one.
IP IP Logged
txdave36

Quote txdave36 Replybullet Posted: 12 Mar 2010 at 12:42pm
Well I want my data to display like this:

AGTY_SYS_CD     TOTAl RETIREES    NEW RETIREES

ASPRS                 429
AJRS                   65
APERS                  77
ADJRS             24,369               116

DISABLED -        4

Disabled is another field in my data that I want add underneath. The detail section only gives me room to add a single field line.