Technical Questions
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2022 : Technical Questions
Message Icon Topic: Changed Datasource Location Post Reply Post New Topic
Author Message
carstowal
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 31 Jul 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 80
Quote carstowal Replybullet Topic: Changed Datasource Location
    Posted: 13 Oct 2009 at 8:59am
CR9

this morning I created a view at the server

CREATE VIEW dbo.vwDemandSupplyLinkSingleLinePerWO
AS
SELECT     ROWID, ID, DEMAND_TYPE, DEMAND_BASE_ID, DEMAND_SEQ_NO, SUPPLY_TYPE, SUPPLY_BASE_ID, SUPPLY_SUB_ID, DEMAND_PART_ID,
                      ALLOCATED_QTY, RECEIVED_QTY, ISSUED_QTY
FROM         dbo.DEMAND_SUPPLY_LINK dsl
WHERE     (ROWID =
                          (SELECT     MAX(dsl1.ROWID)
                            FROM          dbo.DEMAND_SUPPLY_LINK AS dsl1
                            WHERE      dsl1.SUPPLY_BASE_ID = dsl.SUPPLY_BASE_ID))

both table and view are in same database

I then went into my report and changed the Datasource Location from Demand_Supply_Link to vwDemandSupplyLinkSingleLinePerWO.

I know CR has redirected to the View because I'm now getting correct data.  However in the Field Explorer and Database Expert it still shows the name "Demand_Supply_Link" not vwDemandSupplyLinkSingleLinePerWO.
  I've even rebooted.  Can it / will it ever show the view name?
IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9053
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 13 Oct 2009 at 11:04am
If you go  into Database>Set DataSource Location, expand the DNS then expand the table name and then expand the properties you should see it listed in the 'Overridden Qualified Table Name:'
IP IP Logged
carstowal
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 31 Jul 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 80
Quote carstowal Replybullet Posted: 13 Oct 2009 at 12:02pm
thanks.  too bad it can't be more obvious to someone else who looks at this report down the road.


Edited by carstowal - 13 Oct 2009 at 12:03pm
IP IP Logged
DBlank
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 19 Dec 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9053
Quote DBlank Replybullet Posted: 13 Oct 2009 at 12:11pm

I agree. I have spent hours tweaking a view that just never fixed the data in a report only to realize it was not even the view being used.Angry

IP IP Logged
carstowal
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 31 Jul 2008
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 80
Quote carstowal Replybullet Posted: 13 Oct 2009 at 12:17pm
since I'll forget all about it, I created a formula called README
=
//the table SUPPLY_DEMAND_LINK is really pointing to vwDemandSupplyLinkSingleLinePerWO
//see Properties under Table Name in Set Datasource Location


THANKS A MILLION for your continued assistance via this forum.
IP IP Logged
Post Reply Post New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



This page was generated in 0.016 seconds.