Data Connectivity
 Crystal Reports Forum : Crystal Reports 9 through 2022 : Data Connectivity
Message Icon Topic: Exporting to Excel when using Subreport Issue Post Reply Post New Topic
Treadgold

Online Status: Offline
Quote Treadgold Replybullet Topic: Exporting to Excel when using Subreport Issue
    Posted: 10 Dec 2010 at 4:22am
Hi there,

I am a database Admin for a major corporation, and we use crystal reports extensively.

I have one annoying issue, which for the life of me, I cannot solve, or my colleagues for that matter also...

I am using Crystal V 8.5.975 and I don't have the option to upgrade to a new version.

I have made a report to obtain some customer record data and data from a cost table, which contains a historical record of costs for certain products.

The way that the cost table is arranged, I have to end up using a subreport. My report is organized something similar to this:-

Customer Repair ID, Repair Date, Product ID, <Subreport: Product ID, Cost Date, Cost of Product>

Cost date contains the list of dates when the cost of the product changed price, and Cost of Product is the cost of that product on that day.

Repair Date and Product ID are linked to the the Product ID and Cost Date fields in the subreport by passing the parameter field or shared variable into the subreport.

I have made the report, it is fully working in Crystal, which is great, however, here's the problem:

When I export to Excel 8.0, all fields are displayed, except the cost field in the sub report. However, when I export to .pdf file, all fields are displayed correctly. It's just whenever I export to excel, it misses off this field.

The main purpose of this is to export to excel.

So, has anyone encountered this problem before when exporting to excel when using a sub report?

I have tried:

- Resizing all columns to the the same size
- Aligned all lefts/rights vice versa

Due to the way the table structure is arranged, I have to use a subreport here.

Any clues?